Hold On.

Jen Freymond
4 min readSep 4, 2021

Things feel hopeless right now, I know. There’s never been a shortage of dark shit going on in the world, but this current time is the darkest in my lifetime. The kind of darkness I couldn’t have imagined as a younger person. It feels like we’re in the midst of the apocalypse. And maybe we are.

The global pandemic has been devastating, but what really causes the most pain is how many stupid, selfish fucking assholes refuse to get vaccinated or wear a mask. They’re barfing their “freedom” all over the graves of the hundreds of thousands of people this virus has killed in this country, and all the health care workers who have been putting their lives on the line for the last year and a half to keep their stupid fucking asses safe. And even worse are the elected representatives who fight vaccine and mask mandates and encourage people to fight them. They are directly responsible for the deaths of thousands and thousands of people.

Children are in schools. Getting sick. Being quarantined and hospitalized. Because people refuse to do the simplest things to protect each other. My children are starting school this week. They’ll be masked, and I’ll be holding my breath, hoping kids can get vaccinated before a whole new generation of people starts dying as a result of something PREVENTABLE. The rage I feel about where we are, knowing it didn’t have to be this way, is strong. I know you feel this way too.

Climate change is making parts of the earth unlivable even faster than scientists predicted. Hurricanes, earthquakes, extreme heat… and now the first…

--

--

Jen Freymond

Co-host of the podcast “I Never Saw That.” Humor writer and satirist. Find my work in McSweeney’s, The Belladonna, Little Old Lady, etc... Twitter: @jenfreymond